Compare · Simon Says

Doza Assist vs Simon Says: for editors cutting interviews on a Mac.

Simon Says is the closest functional comparable to Doza Assist: both transcribe interview footage and both round-trip with Final Cut Pro, Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve. The differences are where the transcription runs, how you pay, and what actually comes back into your timeline.

Last updated September 15, 2026 macOS · Apple Silicon $199 one-time
The short version

Simon Says is a cloud transcription, captioning and translation service with extensions that run inside Premiere Pro, Final Cut Pro and DaVinci Resolve. Transcripts return as ranged markers, and its Assemble tool lets you drag highlighted lines into a rough cut that exports as a new sequence. Doza Assist transcribes on your Mac, ranks the soundbites, builds a grounded rough cut, learns your style, and places the selects back into the multicam or sync-clip timeline you started from.

01Side by side

Doza Assist vs Simon Says, September 2026
Doza AssistSimon Says
Runs onMac with Apple Silicon, 16 GB memory minimumWeb app, Mac app, iPhone app, plus extensions for Premiere Pro, Final Cut Pro and DaVinci Resolve (Mac and Windows). Avid via exported files
Where processing happensOn your Mac. Transcription, speaker labels and the language model all run locally. Nothing uploads by defaultCloud. Projects live on the website and audio is sent to third-party speech recognition platforms. A separate on-premise product exists; its Enhanced edition does not run AI on Apple Silicon
Pricing model$199 once with 12 months of updates, then $49/yr if you want more updates. Studio $29/mo or $299/yrPay As You Go $15 per hour ($0.25 a minute), or Starter $15, Pro $33 and Pro+ $125 per user per month billed annually with 2, 4 or 30 hours of credit. Extra hours $7.50 down to $4.00
Works inside your FCP, Premiere or Resolve timelineReads your Final Cut Pro project (FCPXML 1.11+) and hands selects back into it. Sequences for Premiere Pro (xmeml) and DaVinci Resolve (EDL)Extensions run inside all three. Transcripts return as ranged markers on clips. Assemble rough cuts export as a new sequence or timeline that then needs relinking
Multicam and sync-clip round tripYes for Final Cut Pro. Multicam and sync clips come back as the same clip type with the original media references. Premiere and Resolve receive a flat sequenceThe FCP extension accepts multicam and synced clips for markers; simple clips recommended. Assemble cannot take in an FCP timeline and return an edited timeline, and Premiere sequence XML does not carry multicam clip structures
Speaker labelsYes, on device, with real namesAuto-speaker identification: you label one row and the AI propagates the name by voice
Story selects and rough cutsRanked soundbites, Story Brief, Story Builder, and Chat that cannot invent a timecodeAssemble: highlight soundbites and drag them into a rough cut by hand. Ranked soundbites or story suggestions not stated
Learns your editing styleMy Style (Editorial DNA) learns from cuts you have already finishedNot stated
Privacy of footageFootage never uploads. The optional Claude or OpenAI key is off by defaultMachine transcription only. Files retained 6 months after a subscription ends; retention at the third-party speech providers is outside their control
Free trialEvery feature on the first 2 minutes of any file. No account15 minutes of free credit

Last checked: September 2026. Simon Says facts from simonsaysai.com and its help center. Where the pricing page and a help article disagree on monthly prices, the pricing page is quoted.

02What each round trip actually does

The phrase round trip covers very different things, so here is each one as precisely as I can state it from the vendors' own documentation and my own code.

03When Simon Says is the better fit

04When Doza Assist is the better fit

05Why not just use the transcription built into your editor?

Final Cut Pro, Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve can all turn audio into text now, and for captions that is often enough. Doza Assist is for the step after the transcript, and it adds six things the built-in tools do not:

Read the full breakdown on Doza Assist vs the transcription built into Final Cut Pro, Premiere and Resolve.

06Frequently asked

Does Simon Says work inside Final Cut Pro?

Yes, through a Mac App Store app that installs as a Final Cut Pro extension. It sends clips to the cloud and returns transcripts as ranged markers with speaker labels, and can send captions into projects. Its Assemble rough cuts export as a new event and sequence rather than into your existing timeline, per Simon Says' own help center.

Which tool keeps footage on the Mac?

Doza Assist runs everything on the Mac: transcription, speaker labels and the language model. Simon Says' mainstream product processes in the cloud with third-party speech engines. Simon Says also sells an on-premise edition; its Standard edition runs on Apple Silicon Macs and its Enhanced edition does not run AI on M-series chips, as of September 2026 per their site.

Can I use both?

Yes. Some editors use Simon Says for caption and translation deliverables and Doza Assist for the story pass and the timeline round trip. Doza Assist's transcript exports as a Word or PDF document, and quote sheets go out the same way.

How does Doza Assist charge for hours?

It does not. $199 once, unlimited hours on your Mac, 12 months of updates included, then $49 a year only if you want to keep updating. Studio is $29 a month or $299 a year.

Try every feature free on the first 2 minutes of any file.

No account, no card. Transcription, speaker labels, ranked soundbites, Story Builder, My Style and the NLE round trip all run on your Mac.

$199 one-time · includes 12 months of updates · Studio $29/mo or $299/yr

Promo code SEARCH15 at checkout.

30-day money-back guarantee · Requires a Mac with Apple Silicon (M1 or later) and 16 GB of memory